top of page
Check out some of my previous posts!
Search By Tag:
No tags yet.
Stay In The Know:

How i remove my makeup!

Hello everyone!

Today i wanted to write about how i take off my makeup at the end of the day! It is incredibly important to take off your makeup before going to sleep because it can really damage your skin. It can cause clogged pores and breakouts! It can also cause premature aging and a build up of bacteria on the skin! So before going to sleep, be sure to remove your makeup as best you can!

I have tried many ways of removing my makeup, and none have worked as well as the product i want to tell you about! I use Coconut Oil! If your not happy with the way you are currently removing your makeup, or hate how dry and irritated your skin is after using products such as makeup wipes, then look no further!

Coconut oil has so many great uses, you can cook with it, use it on your skin, use it in your hair and so many more! I will link an amazing post I've read, which lists 101+ uses for coconut oil! So be sure to scroll to the bottom to have a read, you wont be disappointed!

There are many types of coconut oil, but none compare to Unrefined Organic Coconut oil. This oil holds the most benefits, and is the one i recommend using! Coconut oil, is a strange texture, it is a solid form, but will melt quickly when exposed to heat, so for example, when i rub it between my fingers it will quickly melt into a liquid form and become easy to rub into skin and melt off your makeup.

When i use it to remove my makeup, i tend to rub it into my face makeup first, so i can remove as much of my foundation etc as possible, before moving onto my eye makeup. I then go in with a face cloth (i pick mine up from Woolworths, they come in a pack of 2 gentle clothes). I wipe away the oil and makeup and go in and repeat a few times. I do this until i am satisfied that i have removed as much as i can. Using this product will leave a slightly oily residue on your skin, though it can also be used as a moisturizer so i love the feeling it gives my skin. It is possible that your skin may not absorb it well, and may do the opposite and cause breakouts, so i suggest trialing it first to see how your skin reacts to it.

I love using this technique to remove my makeup! It may take more time then using products such as makeup wipes, but it cleans your skin much more thoroughly, and you are not putting harmful chemicals onto your skin.

I have had bad experiences with makeup wipes, and i urge everyone i know not to use them! They contain many chemicals that are harmful and irritating to the skin!

I have chemically burnt my skin two separate times when using makeup wipes to remove my makeup. Both times when using them to remove my makeup, my skin was left severely burning, with thick dry skin covering my entire face. My face felt like sandpaper (not exaggerating, my partner was shocked). I wasnt able to use any products on my face for weeks after, and could only occasionally apply pure aloe vera to my skin to help the healing process.

I have purchased 2 different brands of organic unrefined coconut oil from Woolworths, and loved both of them! You can usually get one on sale for less then $10 for a 300g jar, which will last your a very long time!

I would suggest removing some from the jar and putting some into another separate container or jar, as you are dipping your fingers into it and exposing it to hot and cold temperatures, this can cause the product to produce bacteria. So using a separate jar allows you to ensure you are using good, clean product each time!

*Here is the post explaining 101+ uses for coconut oil!

http://wellnessmama.com/5734/101-uses-for-coconut-oil/

If you have great uses for coconut oil, be sure to leave them down below!

Thank you for reading!

bottom of page